FREE Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series Webinars – Friday, September 6th, 2019

Joy Reisinger Lecture Series - FREE series of 6 webinars presented by Board for Certification of Genealogists and Legacy Family Tree Webinars on Friday, September 6, 2019

FREE WEBINARS! Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series presented by Board for Certification of Genealogists and Legacy Family Tree Webinars 

FREE WEBINARS! Joy Reisinger Lecture Series presented by Board for Certification of Genealogists and Legacy Family Tree Webinars 

On Friday, September 6th, 2019, the Board for Certification of Genealogists (BCG) presents the Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Those unable to attend the live in-person lectures can participate via webinar thanks to Legacy Family Tree Webinars.

Per the BCG website:

The lecture series is in memory of BCG’s former trustee and vice president of the Board, Joy Reisinger, Certified Genealogist Emeritus. Joy began this lecture series for Family History Library staff during BCG’s fall board meetings. She was an advocate for open records access, a lecturer on research methods, and an expert on Canadian resources, especially Quebec.

Review the selection of webinars below and click HERE to register for FREE. Make sure you register for EACH webinar you want to attend. These lectures are FREE, but seating is limited to the first 1,000 attendees and promises to fill up fast!  Make sure you log in at least 15 minutes before start time!

If you CANNOT attend the live events or the webinars fill up, DON’T WORRY! You can watch the recordings for FREE using the same registration link ABOVE through Thursday, September 12th.

Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series 2019

  • Reasonably Exhaustive Research: The First Criteria for Genealogical Proof presented by Elizabeth Shown Mills, CG®, CGL℠, 11:00 am Eastern / 10:00 am Central / 9:00 am Mountain / 8:00 am Pacific. “Tracking a project from start to finish, this session demonstrates the principles of reasonably exhaustive research and how much is required to prove identity and parentage.”
  • Finding Immigrants Who ‘Disappeared’: A Research Approach Based on Recognizing and Challenging Assumptions presented by Martha Garrett, PhD, CG®, 12:15 pm Eastern / 11:15 am Central / 10:15 am Mountain / 9:15 am Pacific. “Many families have stories about relatives who disappeared. Typically, these relatives left their homes and immigrated to another country, but somewhere along the line they seemed to vanish. Although apparent disappearances can be caused by holes in the historical records, assumptions made by genealogical researchers are often the cause. Consequently, a research approach focused on recognizing and challenging these assumptions can lead to positive results.  Specific examples in this presentation are taken primarily from an article series about disappearing Swedes being published in the Swedish American Genealogist, but the principles apply to all immigrant groups.”
  • Share and Share Alike: The Rules of Genealogical Privacy presented by Judy G. Russell, JD, CG®, CGL℠, 1:30 pm Eastern / 12:30 pm Central / 11:30 am Mountain / 10:30 am Pacific. “Genealogy by its very nature is collaborative-we need to work together and share information with others, both relatives and non-relatives if we’re to succeed in filling out our family trees. But doing family research doesn’t mean giving up all semblances of personal privacy, nor is it a license to invade the privacy of others-family or not. All researchers need to follow the rules, both legal and ethical, when we share genealogical information.”
  • Details of New and Modified DNA-Related Standards presented by Karen Stanbary, CG®, 3:30 pm Eastern / 2:30 pm Central / 1:30 pm Mountain / 12:30 pm Pacific. “Karen will summarize the process undertaken by BCG to create new and modified DNA-specific standards. She will provide an outline of the new standards with emphasis on how they help genealogists meet the Genealogical Proof Standard for conclusions about genetic relationships. The lecture will include some examples illustrating research and writing strategies she uses to meet the standards.”
  • How to Write a Case Study that Meets the New Standards for DNA: As Codified by the Board for Certification of Genealogists presented by Melinda Henningfield, CG®, 4:45 pm Eastern / 3:45 pm Central / 2:45 pm Mountain / 1:45 pm Pacific. “Mary Jones was female, landless, illiterate, and poor in Arkansas in the mid-nineteenth century. Her husband left her for another woman, her parents and many of her siblings left her for California, and the local courthouse burned to the ground destroying most of the evidence of her life. Mitochondrial and autosomal DNA evidence supports Mary’s inferential connection to her parents and siblings. How then do we write a case study about Mary that meets the new DNA standards.”
  • Reconstructing an Entrepreneurial Woman’s Life: From Family Intrigue to Water Rents presented by Rick Sayre, CG®, CGL℠, 6:00 pm Eastern / 5:00 pm Central / 4:00 pm Mountain / 3:00 pm Pacific. “Applying the principles of reasonably exhaustive research, the project demonstrates both the process to document the life of a nineteenth century German immigrant from her ancestral village to Allegheny City, Pennsylvania and illustrates how this woman, who was a single parent most of her life, employed her strong entrepreneurial spirit to provide for her family. Both traditional and more obscure urban sources are employed.”

Save 15% on Legacy Family Tree Webinars Membership

Save 15% on Legacy Family Tree Webinars annual subscription with promo code THOMAS15

All live webinars are free and their recordings are free to watch for the first seven (7) days. But with a subscription to FamilyTreeWebinars.com you get these additional benefits:

  • On-demand access to the entire webinar archives (now 984 classes, 1,261 hours of genealogy education)
  • On-demand access to the instructor handouts (now 4,413 pages)
  • On-demand access to the live webinars’ chat logs
  • 5% off all products at www.FamilyTreeWebinars.com (must be logged in at checkout)
  • Access to all future recordings for the duration of their membership
  • Chance for a members-only door prize during each live webinar
  • Access to register for bonus members-only webinars
  • Ability to view which webinars you are registered for
  • Use of the playlist, resume watching, and jump-to features

Save 15% on an Annual Membership: Regularly $49.95, pay just $42.46 when you use promo code thomas15 at checkout.

Visit http://legacy.familytreewebinars.com/?aid=4438 for more information.

©2019, copyright Thomas MacEntee. All rights reserved

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the Author

Thomas MacEntee
Genealogy educator and author Thomas MacEntee has been researching his family history for more than 40 years and is the creator of Abundant Genealogy, Genealogy Bargains, DNA Bargains, The Genealogy Do-Over and numerous other web-based genealogy and family history properties.